Instagram launched its Stories, content that disappears within 24 hours of its publication, in 2016 and has since become one of the most popular types of publication on the social network.
However, not all users want to see all the photos and short videos uploaded by the people they follow, so today we’re going to tell you what you need to do if you want to stop seeing the stories of a specific user.
The reasons can be various: excessive posting, or it is a person you no longer want to see, like your ex, but you don’t want him to know that you stop following him or you don’t want to block him on Instagram. So, send him into a kind of “limbo” where his Stories will no longer appear for you on your profile.
You also need to remember that even if you silence their Stories, other content will still appear in the feed, such as the photos, videos or Reels they post.
How to turn off a contact’s stories on Instagram
If you just want to deactivate the Stories of a specific contact on Instagram, you will have to locate them in the bar where all the Stories are displayed and there click on your profile photo.
This will show you the last Story posted by the user you want to deactivate. Click on the three-dot button that appears in the upper right corner of the screen and tap “Mute”, then just tap on “Mute history”
That way, neither that story nor the rest will be displayed. They are not actually hidden, it is that they will appear at the end of the top bar. The algorithm that orders the Stories will no longer take this into account and those published by this user will always appear last.
Also, these stories won’t show a colored circle around them in their profile photo, so you won’t know when they’ve posted a new story. Similarly, when you get to the end of the stories, seeing them all activated automatically, they will not be shown.
So simple. If you later want to reactivate the Stories of a user you will only have to repeat the same steps above, but instead of clicking on “Deactivate” you will have to click on “Reactivate” or “Reactivate history” (the name of the button varies if you are using a phone respectively mobile phone iOS or Android).