Do you want to put your private account on Instagram? We tell you how to do it step by step with the updated app and what advantages and disadvantages it has.
This is a very useful option for protecting your privacy and preventing people you don’t know from accessing the photos and videos you post on your profile, as well as controlling which users follow you. It also has some disadvantages, such as the inability to appear in general feeds (navigation tab, hashtag …). Follow these steps if you want to have your own private account.
The popularity of this social network does not stop growing, so many people prefer to put their Instagram account in private. In addition to within the application, you can also view photos and videos with a simple Google search, one more reason for wanting to maximize your privacy as much as possible.
Putting the block on an Instagram account has undoubted advantages if it is a priority for you to protect your privacy. In a private account, only people who follow you and who you have previously authorized to do so will be able to see your videos and photos.
In this way, your publications and your Stories will not be accessible to unknown users. When you make your account private, a person will not be able to follow you without first granting them your permission to do so.
If a person wants to follow you, you will receive a follow-up request that you can accept, decline or leave pending. Also, if someone who was following you stops, they will need to send you a follow-up request in order to be able to follow you again.
Instagram: put your account in private mode
Once you have weighed the pros and cons of this decision, here we explain step by step how to make your account private. Switching from a public account to a private account is very simple:
- You just need to log into the Instagram app and click on your account icon.
- Next, click on the three lines that appear in the upper area and click on “Settings”.
- Go to ‘Privacy’. In the ‘Account Privacy’ section, the option to enter the private account will appear.
- Activate the button that appears on the side, it must be marked in blue.
Your account will become private and users who want to follow you from now on will need your approval. Followers you already have will be able to continue seeing your content.
However, it is possible to remove them so that they do not access your profile. To do this, click on the ‘Followers’ section that appears on your profile and click on the ‘Delete’ button on the side.
Is private or public Instagram better? As I said, the main function of putting your private account on Instagram is that users you don’t know won’t be able to see your posts or even your stories. However, there are other functions that we also see in a private account that are not in a public one and vice versa.
To begin with, with a private account on Instagram, the user will have to send you a follow-up request if they want to see your photos, videos or stories. You can accept, decline or leave the request pending. If you accept it, the user will be able to see all the content you post in your account.
When a request is denied, the user will not be able to see your content, but will be able to request to follow you again. If left pending, it will appear in the request list until you do one of the first two options.
What if someone stops following you? They will no longer be able to view your profile unless they send you a new follow-up request.
Another feature of having your private account is that users cannot share your profile posts in their stories. They can share pictures or videos via private messages. However, if the recipient doesn’t follow you, they won’t be able to see the post unless you send you a follow-up request and wait for you to accept that request.
Having a private account we also lose some useful Instagram features. For example, posts will not appear in the “Browse” tab.
With a public account we can have access to more functions. Sure, sacrificing our privacy a little. For starters, having a public account, anyone can see your posts simply by searching for your username.
They’ll also be able to see your Stories, unless you hide them for that specific user. On the other hand, people will also be able to share your posts in your Stories and send the images to other people.
Having a public account on Instagram also offers more options for user growth, as your posts can appear in the “Explore” tab, in hashtags or locations.
Furthermore, with a public account on Instagram we can also limit the interaction with some users. It is possible to block those people who do not want to see our profile or disable comments.